University Student Marshals

Being chosen as a University of Chicago Student Marshal is one of the highest honors the University awards to undergraduate students. Appointed by the President of the University, Student Marshals are third-year students who are chosen based on their academic performance and involvement in and contribution to the campus community. 

2022-2023 University of Chicago Student Marshals

  • Elena Gilbertson Hall (Public Policy, 2024)
  • Phoebe Holz (Psychology; Romance Languages and Literatures, 2024)
  • Kelly Hui (Critical Race and Ethnic Studies; English Language and Literature; Creative Writing, 2024)
  • Niranjan Joshi (Biological Sciences; Philosophy, 2024)
  • Esi Koomson (Global Studies, 2024)
  • Steven Labalme (Chemistry, 2024)
  • Connor Lee (Political Science, 2024)
  • Suzanna Murawski (Fundamentals: Issues and Texts, 2024)
  • Ethan Ostrow (Law, Letters, and Society, 2024)
  • Monica Ruiz (Law, Letters, and Society; Romance Languages and Literatures; Latin American and Caribbean Studies; Sociology, 2024)
  • Rebecca Sealy (Public Policy, 2024)
  • Nathaniel Selub (Mathematics; Physics, 2024)
  • Yuanlong "Bill" Zheng (Physics, 2024)

The selection committee includes the Dean of the College, its Dean of Students, the University Marshal, and select faculty and staff. A call for nominations will be issued university-wide to faculty and staff in autumn quarter each year.

Students who accept their nomination will be asked to provide the selection committee with information about their academic achievements, leadership, public service, and future goals. This includes submission of a CV, three examples of academic excellence, as well as two brief essays (350 words or less), where the nominee will be asked to: 1) describe an example of leadership; and 2) describe a recent, satisfying public service activity. Nominees will also be prompted to submit the names of three academic mentors, the first of whom will also enter into a field that solicits a letter of recommendation. All application materials are due on February 1, 2024, by 11:59 PM CT via the application site here