Weidenfeld-Hoffman Scholarship and Leadership Programme

Provides total support for graduate study at Oxford to international students from certain emerging economies

The Weidenfeld-Hoffmann Scholarship and Leadership Programme supports five postgraduate students per annum and is offered to exceptional scholars devoting their studies and professional careers to international development or environmental management and conservation. These studies encompass a number of subjects offered in Oxford University’s School of Geography and Environment and Department of International Development.

The Scheme targets exceptional individuals from the transition and emerging economies of Europe’s wider neighbourhood including Central and Eastern Europe, the Balkans, the Caucasus, Russia  and  Central Asia, as well as North Africa and the Middle East.

Deadline Information

Application deadline depends on your course


The Leadership Programme includes:

  • An annual Leadership and Public Policy Seminar including moderated discussions and workshops on political philosophy and leadership development;
  • Practical skills training in presentation, exam-writing  and interviewing techniques;
  • A London Leadership Forum at the end of the academic year;
  • Engagement in the Institute for Strategic Dialogue’s projects and conferences;
  • Organisation of an annual Weidenfeld Debate; and
  • Numerous networking opportunities throughout the year.

The Programme is managed by the Institute for Strategic Dialogue (ISD). ISD is an independent think tank working with leaders in government, business, academia and the media to develop multi-country responses to the major security and socio-economic challenges of our time and to enhance Europe’s capacity to act effectively in the global arena.

Eligibility Requirements

Candidates should be applying to start a new graduate course at Oxford. They should also be intending to return to their countries or regions of origin once their courses are completed.

Candidates should also be sure that they meet the requirements for entry to their desired courses, including the necessary English language qualifications. Deferred entry students are not eligible to apply for this scholarship.

Eligible candidates must have an undergraduate degree and be ordinarily resident in one of the following countries: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, Estonia, FYR Macedonia, Georgia, Hungary, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Libya, Lithuania, Mongolia, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, Oman, Palestinian Authority, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Western Sahara, Yemen.

Please refer to the program website for a list of eligible academic programs.