Organization of American States Fellowship (No update for '20-'21 cycle)

Up to $30,000 for study in the Caribbean/Latin America/South America

The OAS Academic Scholarship Program (Regular Program), established in 1958, grants scholarships every year for the pursuit of Master’s Degrees, Doctoral Degrees and Graduate Research leading to a university degree. OAS Academic Scholarships are awarded for full-time studies at any university in an OAS Member State, with the exception of the applicant’s sponsoring country

OAS academic scholarships have a monetary cap of US $30,000 per academic year, which includes all benefits mentioned below. These scholarships are complementary, which means they are not intended to cover 100% of the grantee’s expenses. Not all scholarships include the same benefits; these are allocated on a case by case basis.

OAS academic scholarships may offer the following benefits:

Roundtrip ticket.

Tuition and mandatory fees.

Annual book allowance (US $300 for on campus studies, and US $1000 for online studies).

Medical insurance. (For on site studies only).

Monthly subsistence. (For on site studies only). Subsistence varies depending on the country of study. OAS monthly subsistence covers an average of 60% of the grantee’s expenses.

Deadline Information

Deadline: Ongoing

Deadline: Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Eligibility Requirements

Be a citizen or permanent resident from the English or Dutch speaking Caribbean Member States.

Have completed the first two (2) years of the Undergraduate degree, or have an Associate’s degree.

Show an above average GPA.

Be in good physical and mental health to successfully complete the program of study.

The deadlines vary by type of fellowship. Check the website for deadlines of a specific fellowship of interest.