Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences Foundation Scholarships

Various scholarships for students interested in pursuing a career in fields related to interactive entertainment and game development

The AIAS Foundation, the philanthropic arm of the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences (AIAS), is pleased to award five scholarships to outstanding students who are dedicating their careers to the advancement of the video game industry. The scholarship winners will each receive $2,500.

There are three different awards provided by the foundation:

  • The Randy Pausch Scholarship was established by the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences in 2008 to honor the memory of Dr. Randy Pausch, Computer Science Professor and Co-Founder of the Entertainment Technology Center at Carnegie Mellon University. The scholarship supports students who are pursuing careers specializing in the development of interactive entertainment. 
  • The Mark Beaumont Scholarship was established by the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences in 2010 to honor the memory of the COO of Capcom North America and Europe, Mark Beaumont. This scholarship supports students who are pursuing careers specializing in the business of interactive entertainment.  
  • The WomenIn Scholarships are a collaborative effort to attract, retain and advance women in the interactive entertainment industry by supporting their education and professional development. This initiative provides support to female students and early career gaming professionals through its year-long mentoring program, education and scholarships.

Deadline Information

Deadline: Sunday, May 31, 2020


Recipients of the award are expected to engage in a year-long mentorship program and are eligible to receive a complimentary pass to the 2018 D.I.C.E. Summit and 21st D.I.C.E. Awards show.

Eligibility Requirements

For the WomenIn Scholarship, applicants must be female-identifying. The eligibility requirements for the three scholarships are otherwise the same and are as follows:

  • Must be a full-time undergraduate student starting their second year or a graduate student attending an accredited college or university in the United States during the 2017-18 academic school year.
  • GPA: 3.3 minimum on a 4.0 scale.
  • Applicants do not need to be a US citizen or permanent resident to apply. In compliance with federal law, any non-U.S. citizen who receives a scholarship must not be listed on a published "Specifically Designated Nationals" terrorism watch list.
  • Family members of AIAS Foundation board and staff and individual major donors of the Foundation (defined as contributors of at least $1000 in donation) are not eligible to apply for the scholarship.  
  • Previous scholarship recipients are not eligible to apply.
  • Students majoring in any field are invited to apply.

Application Process

To complete the online application, you must upload the following:
1. Verification of enrollment in an undergraduate (minimum 2nd year) or graduate studies program for the 2017-18 academic year.
2. Two page (maximum) personal statement, including:
     a. Information about your studies and how you will benefit the game industry
     b. Statement addressing your service, leadership, character, and financial need.
3. Two current, signed letters of recommendation:
     a. Letters of recommendation must be from colleagues or professors from your current academic program, administration, and/or professors who know you individually.
     b. Letters of recommendations must address your potential to make significant contribution to the game industry through character, service, or leadership abilities.