Demystifying Study in the UK/Ireland

Degree Structures: Vary by institution

  • MSt. or MSc. (Masters of Studies) – One year master’s course with exams and/or thesis in addition to course-work in a nine-month period (some may be longer). 
  • M.Phil. (Masters of Philosophy) – Most often a two year master’s course suited to disciplines requiring extensive field-work, thesis research, etc. Some institutions offer one-year MPhil options.
  • D.Phil. (Doctorate of Philosophy) – Two-four year doctoral course following one or two years of  masters level work. This is the terminal equivalent of the Ph.D.

More Resources